Nepal prime minister resigns, paving way for new government


A Standing Committee (SC) of the party held in Lalitpur named Oli as the prime ministerial candidate as he is also the UML's Parliamentary Party leader, Surendra Pandey was quoted as saying by The Kathmandu Post.

Oli was appointed as the 41st Prime Minister of Nepal on Thursday. They met President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on Thursday morning to present their choice, The Himalayan Times reported.

An alliance of Oli's main Communist party and the former Maoist rebels trounced Deuba's Nepali Congress party in last year's polls. Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, after the conclusion of the meeting will address the nation.

His government is credited with holding successful elections following the announcement of the new constitution in 2015.

Deuba was elected as the 40th Prime Minister on June 6 with the support from CPN (Maoist Centre) which is now a part of Left alliance and opting for the merger with CPN-UML. Now the Hilly nation will pave the way for the formation of a new government.

It had also secured an overwhelming majority in the upper house of Parliament with 39 out of the 59 seats. He served as the prime minister of Nepal from 1995 to 1997, 2001 to 2002, and from 2004 to 2005. The Nepali Congress has 63 seats while the CPN-Maoist Centre has 53 seats. He is likely to induct two leaders, one each from the UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre, as ministers today, according to the source.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.