BSP counts on SP-Cong-RLD support for win in RS polls


Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Monday filed his nomination papers for the biennial polls for 10 Rajya Sabha seats from the state, officials said.

Elections will be held on 23 March for various seats of the Rajya Sabha, including five from Madhya Pradesh.

According to an announcement by the BJP general secretary J P Nadda here on Sunday, Mr Rane, a former Sena leader and who was also with Congress since 2005, will be BJP candidate from Maharashtra. Discussions for an alliance for the Rajya Sabha were held at the highest level figuring Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JMM executive president Hemant Soren in Delhi.

The NDA would still need 11 more and may place its hopes on engineering cross voting from Congress through former PCC president Ashok Choudhary, who joined JD (U) recently. Rest of the papers were filed by Anil Desai from the Sena, Vandana Chavan from the NCP, and Kumar Ketkar from the Congress.

The final nomination was filed by Congress candidate Akhilesh Prasad Singh, who was a junior minister in UPA I, representing RJD.

In Gujarat, the Congress list has created division among leaders.

He filed his nomination papers as an independent with the support of some Congress MLAs, after two official candidates of the party filed their forms.

The Congress on Monday targeted the BJP for nominating "non-Kannadiga" Rajeev Chandrasekhar for the Rajya Sabha polls, accusing it of "consistently acting against Karnataka's interests".

While the BJP is poised to win its all four seats, the Congress is expected to get one seat, based on the strength of its members in the state Assembly. Each candidate requires votes of 38 MLAs.

The BSP has 19 members in the Vidhan Sabha while the Congress has seven.

In terms of caste equation, the party has made a decision to field Naseer Hussain, a minority community leader from Ballari, L. Hanumanthaiah, a dalit from Bengaluru Rural and G.C. Chandrashekar a Vokkaliga from Hassan. The Congress is pinning its hopes on one out of the two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand. The Congress candidates are former Union minister Naran Rathwa-a tribal leader-and Ami Yagnik who is a lawyer and a media face for the party.