Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018: Senior Congress Leader Says "Outsiders" Preferred Over Own


Numerous 154 candidates declared in the first two lists were ministers & MLAs when BJP won Karnataka in 2008, but also face criminal & corruption charges.

The BJP's second list, released Monday, is devoid of surprises, featuring nearly the same set of leaders who took it to power for the first time in a southern state, back in 2008.

The party is yet to name candidates for Shantinagar segment in Bengaluru Central, Kittar, Nagthan, Sindgi, Raichur and Melukote. However, Congress party workers in the state didn't seem too convinced with the choice of candidates and took to streets on Monday to express their anger.

The results of the election to the 224-seat Karnataka Assembly will be out on May 15.

Supporters of party leader Anjana Murthy protested in Bengaluru after he was denied a ticket from the Nelamangala constituency, ANI reported.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will be contesting the elections from Chamundeshwari, while his son Dr Yatheendra will contest the election from Varuna constituency.

Former BBMP Commissioner Siddhaiah has been fielded from Sakaleshpur (SC) and former IAS officer Syed Zammer Pasha is the party nominee from Kolar.

Rebellion, in fact, began brewing in the party ranks even as the list was made public, with several aspirants hitting the road in open defiance of the leadership across the state. A loss in Karnataka will put the Congress party's future in the country on life support.

Dr. Mahadevappa, who wanted to contest from C.V. Raman Nagar (SC) seat in Bengaluru and leave his home Constituency T.Narasipur to his son Sunil Bose, will now himself has to contest from T.Narasipur, as the party High Command turned down his demand.

The BJP has also given a ticket to former Union minister Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, re-inducted into the party just a few days ago.