SC buries all accused in 2007 Mecca Masjid Blasts case


Those acquitted today included Aseemanand, Lokesh Sharma, Devendra Gupta, Bharat Rateshwar, and Rajendra Choudhary.

Two other accused, former RSS pracharak Sandeep V. Dange and RSS activist and electrician Ramchandra Kalsangra, also from Madhya Pradesh, have been eluding the investigators. Later when the threads of the investigation linked to the Samjhauta Blast Case, the case was taken over by the NIA from the Central Intelligence Agency in 2011.

Hours after delivering the verdict in Hyderabad's Mecca Masjid bomb blast, special NIA judge Ravindra Reddy resigned from his position.He sent his resignation letter to High Court Chief Judge. The special NIA court announced that all the ten accused acquitted in this case.

Tight security arrangements were made near the special court in Nampally area and other sensitive spots in view of the sensitive background of the case by deploying 2,000 police personnel. An accused Sunil Joshi was murdered during the investigation.

Swami Aseemanand, a monk who has been linked to three terror attacks, was among five men acquitted. Two of the accused have not been traced yet, and one was killed. Only five of them were arrested and faced trail.

Aseemanand and Rateshwar are now out on bail, while the other three are behind bars.

In March 2017, a court in Rajasthan had sentenced Gupta and others to life in jail in the Ajmer Dargah blast case. It is important that on May 18, 2007, at noon, 27 minutes, there was a blast during prayer, in which five people died on the spot.

Malegaon blasts in 2006: On September 8, at least four blasts outside a mosque in Maharashtra's Nashik district had killed over 38 people.

The case was initially investigated by the local police before being transferred to the CBI, and finally taken over by the NIA in 2011.

In all, 226 witnesses were questioned by the NIA, and 10 people were finally charged.