Sunrisers lose Dhawan, Williamson in quick succession after making strong start


The 20-year-old leg-spinner got the much-needed breakthrough in his first over, Wriddhiman Saha sent on his way following a successful review for leg before.

His four strikes along with Mustafizur Rahman's dismissal of Kane Williamson reduced the hosts to 107-5 from 62-0 to give the visitors a sniff of a chance in defending their paltry total. He was set to shade that by muscling his way to 45 off 27 balls, before falling off his 28th when he top-edged a sweep to Jasprit Bumrah at fine leg. At this point, the hosts were reeling at 107/5 in 13 overs and Mumbai were right back in the game.

The swashbuckling West Indian opener did what he does best, as he got Mumbai Indians off to a flying start with some spectacular shots all around the wicket.

In the space of 8 balls though - six of the best which came from Mustafizur Rahman - Sunrisers lost 4 wickets for a single run, and the 2-meter tall Australian was awkwardly ambling out of the dug-out. Siddharth Kaul has made Rohit's problems worse by taking 2 wickets.

Things weren't quite as simple as their opening win over Rajasthan Royals, however, with Thursday's one-wicket victory against Mumbai Indians going down to the final ball. SRH needed 1 run on the last bowl of the match then the striking batsman Stanlake hit four and assured SRH's win.

Sunrisers invited Mumbai to bat first after winning the toss.

With the likes of Shakib Al Hasan, Rashid Khan, Billy Stanlake and Siddharth Kaul all playing their parts to perfection, it is becoming hard to look beyond the Sunrisers as the favourites for the title. Their opening partnership of Rohit Sharma (11) and Evin Lewis (29) was broken on the last ball of the second over when the Mumbai Captain was caught by Shakib al Hasan at square leg off a short pitched delivery by Billy Stanlake (4-42-2).

The lower middle-order caved in badly as Sunrisers looked as potent an attack even without their premier India bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Rashid equaled the record for the most dot balls bowled in an IPL match with a tally of 18 in his four overs. During the chase, the guile of leggie Mayank Markande (4/24) did not matter in the end as Deepak Hooda (32; 25b, 4x1, 6x1) and Billy Stanlake took Sunrisers to 151 for nine.

Sandeep Sharma (2/25 in 4 overs) proved to be a like-for-like replacement with his incisive swing bowling while Siddarth Kaul (2/29 in 4 overs) was once again impressive. However, Kaul removed Kishan and rattled Lewis's off stump with a knuckle ball.

Suryakumar Yadav (28) looked to rebuild, first with Pandya, and then with Pollard, but Shakib al Hasan (1-34) accounted for Pandya on the back of back-to-back boundaries, while Pollard fell to Stanlake soon after smiting two huge sixes straight down the ground.