BCCI announces squads for one-off Women's T20 match


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads for the Indian Premier League (IPL) style women's exhibition T20 match on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium.

According to a BCCI statement, Indian stars including Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana will be the star attractions for the game titled Women's T20 Challenge.

The one-off encounter will have 26 players, which includes 10 global players from Australia, New Zealand and England.

Alyssa Healy, Australia's wicketkeeper-batter, Beth Mooney, Australia's opener, Suzie Bates, the veteran New Zealand all-rounder, are some of the worldwide stars in the Trailblazers' set-up. Danielle Hazell of England will also be a part of the Mandhana-led side. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead IPL Supernovas whereas Smriti Mandana will be the captain for IPL Trailblazers.

Harmanpreet Kaur to lead Supernnovas
Source Getty Images

It is our endeavor that women cricketers also got the chance to play on a big platform like IPL.

Speaking about this T20 Challenge game, Rajeev Shukla, Chairman, IPL, said, "Even as IPL continues to roll like a well-oiled machine, over the last couple of weeks, efforts were made to put in place a similar structure for women cricketers". "We are planning to get a women's IPL in place in two to three years", CoA chief Vinod Rai told AFP.

The match will kick start at 2.00 pm and will be telecast live in India and across the world.