The minimum fine for not wearing a seat belt is $102.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, almost half (48%) of the passenger vehicle occupants killed in crashes in 2016 were unrestrained.
"In 2016, we lost 224 Oklahomans because they weren't buckled up", said Cody McDonell, communications manager for the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office. The front seat belt usage rate in New Jersey now stands at 94.07 percent. Children less than 6 years of age and weighing less than 60 pounds should be restrained in a child passenger safety seat.
More than 150 law enforcement agencies in Washington will be participating in the campaign.
The department is taking part in a national seat belt campaign, Click It or Ticket, that runs from Monday through June 3. For a complete list of speakers and more details, please visit ohso.ok.gov/clickit.
In 2017, 42 percent of automobile fatalities in North Carolina were drivers or passengers who were not wearing their seat belt.
"Seat belts are the first line of defense in the event of a motor vehicle crash and buckling up is the number one thing drivers and passengers can do to keep themselves safe in a auto", Major James B. Basinger, director, Pennsylvania State Police Bureau of Patrol, said in a release.
"Our goal isn't to write citations, but we do know tickets talk", said Lieutenant Joe Williams with the Oklahoma Highway Patrol. If they're caught, they'll get a $136 ticket.
"Buckle Up America! and commit to wearing seat belts on every trip, ensuring that everyone who rides in our cars is buckled up and that all children 12 and younger ride in the back seat in properly installed restraints appropriate for their age and size", she continued.