Apple is ending apps’ ability to secretly sell your contacts list

Share

Apple now reportedly restricts the contact information app developers can take from users and they are no longer allowed to use data to build databases of information.

Applications will still be able to collect this data, but they must prompt the user for consent and tell them exactly what they will do with the data.

Onavo Protect is still listed on the App Store as of late Tuesday evening, but if it disappears it could be a sign that the Apple-Facebook standoff that has always been brewing is heating up.

However, despite all the "revelations", the company did not make a public mention of the new App Store Review Guidelines.

If an Apple developer creates a database of any user's contacts and shares or sells that information without their consent, they will be banned from the developer programme and their content will be removed from the App Store.

The app economy is thriving with one of the biggest changes coming from subscriptions.

Users must already opt in to sharing Contacts information with app developers, but now Apple has placed more restrictions on what developers can do with that information after they obtain it. The updated guidelines forbid third parties from doing so.

For the Apple TV App on the iPhone, iPad and Apple TV, particularly in the USA and Canada where the Sports feature is available, users will be able to keep track of all the action on Fox Now in the U.S., and TSN and RDS, Bell Media's English and French-language apps in Canada.

"They have a huge ecosystem making money through the developer channels and these apps, and until the developers get better on privacy, Apple is complicit", said Mr Domingo Guerra, president of Appthority, which advises governments and companies on mobile-phone security.

Some apps, including Uber and Facebook, let users remove contacts that have been uploaded.

The 2,500 employees Apple has in London will be housed in a new campus due to open in 2021. The data that may have been shared already can not be retrieved back or be "un-shared". You can still use the Quick Reply feature to respond inline without opening the app, and there are other options depending on the app, such as Mark as Read and Delete.

Samsung recently launched a similar curated guide called the ‘Universal TV Guide and Google has redesigned Android TVs home screen to be channels-based with a ‘Play Next feature. According to a 2017 study from Deloitte, 47 percent of smartphone users have at one point attempted to cut back on phone use.

Share