RED SOX: J.D. Martinez and Mookie Betts AL Silver Sluggers


The Astros' second baseman is the first player in club history to win five consecutive Silver Sluggers.

The Silver Slugger was first awarded in 1980, and this year it brought an unexpected twist that we've never seen before.

Mike Trout has won the Silver Slugger Award for the sixth straight time, given to the best offensive players at east position in both leagues. Named the 2018 Hank Aaron Award victor for the AL as the league's top offensive performer, Martinez was the only player in the junior circuit to hit at least.300 with 100 RBI and 100 runs scored. Though everyone knew he had a season for the ages, Thursday's Silver Slugger Award announcements all but confirmed it. He also started the All-Star Game at Nationals Park, batting cleanup as the AL's designated hitter.

Martinez started 93 games at designated hitter and 57 in the outfield.

Betts surely couldn't have set that career high without J.D. Martinez, who managed to exceed expectations in his first season with the Red Sox.

Overall, Martinez led all of baseball with 130 RBIs and 358 total bases during the 2018 season, slashing.330/.402/.629 with 43 dingers and 37 doubles. It's also worth noting that the Silver Slugger does not differentiate between outfield positions.

Abreu joins Carlton Fisk (1981,1985, 1988), Frank Thomas (1991, 1993-'94, 2000), Magglio Ordoñez (2000, 2002) and Alexei Ramírez (2010, 2014) as the White Sox players to win multiple Silver Slugger awards in franchise history.