Facebook will now let you unsend that typo in Messenger

Share

"Have you ever accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat", Facebook said in a blog post on Tuesday.

Remember previous year when Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg purged some of his messages from various Messenger conversations? "Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger".

Following the report, Facebook scrambled to make good and said we'd all soon have delete powers in the messaging app and today that feature is rolling out-sort of. When you tap on it via the Messenger App for iOS or Android, two options will appear: the previously available "Remove For You", and "Remove For Everyone".

Selecting "Remove for Everyone" will replace your message with text that you've removed your message. So, if The Zuck sent you a message, you might find it gone days or weeks later.

Today, Facebook announced that the new unsend option is now rolling out to the Messenger app on Android and iOS.

Open the message thread with the message you want to kill. Once the story began to spread, Facebook confirmed that the CEO's messages expired after a set amount of time, explaining that this was a security measure in response to the Sony email hacks of 2014.

In the meantime, try to not send anything too stupid. When that option is chosen, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat.

TechCrunch reported that Mark Zuckerberg's messages disappeared from chats while the other party's messages remained, causing a stir.

When contacted, Facebook representatives told us Australians should have access to the unsend button "over the next few days".

Share