Google brings this much-needed new feature to Hangouts Chat

Share

If you were one of the few people who actually ended up using this chat app, you have just a few hours left to save your chat history and any media that you may have shared on the service.

The search giant has also noted on its support page that after Allo is shut down, it will delete all your Allo messages, including incognito messages.

However, you can only delete your copy of the conversation history in Hangout Chat. This is it. Today is the last day for you to use Google Allo. Earlier this year we paused investment in Allo and brought some of its most-loved features-like Smart Reply, GIFs and desktop support-into Messages.

In December, Google announced it was shutting down Google Allo in March.

On your Android phone, open Allo. The messages will save as a CSV file and media attachments will save as a zip file.

To download your chats, Go to Settings and then tap on Chat.

It's time to say goodbye to Allo! Exporting messages from chats won't include photos or videos. All of your messages will be completely deleted, though conversations you've had with Google Assistant will remain stored on Google's servers (you can delete them if you wish). You can download the v4.1.065 update from APK Mirror if it's not yet reached your device via the Play Store. Exporting media will save photos, videos and other files.

Google has ported many of Allo's popular features into the Messages app. Duo, the video chat app that launched alongside Allo, has been installed on more than a billion Android devices - that's ten times more than Allo.

Share