Lok Sabha Elections 2019: J&K National Conference snubs meet with Election Commission


The 1952 elections were won by the Congress.

The Congress has made a decision to field Nana Patole, former BJP MP who quit the party in 2018 protesting against Prime Minister Narendra Modi's style of functioning, against Gadkari from the Nagpur constituency. "We have, therefore, nothing more to add", the spokesman said.

The Nationalist Congress Party has released its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha election, a day after alliance partner Congress fielded five candidates from the state. This is the second list of Congress nominees for Uttar Pradesh. Both party president Rahul Gandhi and former party chief Sonia Gandhi were in the list and are continuing to contest from Amethi and Rae Bareli seats, respectively, in Uttar Pradesh.

JD (S) had earlier demanded that it be given 12 seats to contest.

Congress has sought to deflate the BJP's advantage over the clash with Pakistan, questioning the potency of the strikes.

The BSP has also tied up with different parties in Punjab and Haryana. Gandhi's statement came after China, for the fourth time, blocked the move of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) to designate JeM chief Masood Azhar as a terrorist.

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad asked Congress could still speak a different tone even in case of a cruel killer and global terrorist like Azhar.

Meanwhile, Gandhi addressed a fishermen's parliament in northern Kerala on Thursday and is scheduled to visit the families of Youth Congress activists allegedly killed by CPI (M) men.

But despite remaining popular, he faces a challenge to repeat the feat when India's 900 million voters cast ballots between April 11 and May 19.

Three special observers appointed by the EC will be in Srinagar on Thursday to assess the ground situation for holding assembly elections.

The pair - Rahul as Congress leader and his sister Priyanka, who is spearheading campaign efforts in a must-win state - rallied side-by-side for the first time since the national election was announced at the weekend.