Kumar Dharmasena to stand in World Cup final despite Jason Roy row

Share

England's fine win over Australia in the semifinal of the World Cup was a bit soured for Jason Roy after he was fined for breaching Level One of the ICC Code of Conduct.

Neither England or final opponents New Zealand have ever won the Cricket World Cup and so Sunday's showpiece at Lord's will see a new champion crowned.

The opening batsman blew up deluxe when he was given out caught behind by umpire Kumar Dharmasena, claiming he didn't touch a Pat Cummins bouncer with his bat or glove before the ball was pouched by wicketkeeper Alex Carey.

However, since Jonny Bairstow had already used up the review unsuccessfully, Roy could not.

Besides the fine, the ICC also added two demerit points to Roy's disciplinary record. Roy could not contain his disbelief when the Sri Lankan gave him out caught behind off Pat Cummins 15 runs shy of what would have been a 10th one-day global hundred, and was subsequently hit with two demerit points on his record following England's brilliant eight-wicket win over Australia at Edgbaston.

After the game, Roy was found guilty of breaching Article 2.8 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. In 2016, during a Test in Chittagong, eight of his on-field calls were overturned, notably including a streak in which he gave Moeen Ali out three times in six balls, only for the batsman to successfully review each decision.

Morgan was keen to keep a lid on things after England stormed into their first World Cup final in 27 years. Ranjan Madugalle of Sri Lanka will be the match referee.

Roy, who was fined for dissent over the incident, faces an awkward reunion with the Sri Lankan official, who will stand alongside South Africa's Marais Erasmus at Lord's. Australian Rod Tucker will adjudicate on DRS and other television decisions as third umpire with Pakistan's Aleem Dar named as fourth official.

Share