Ethiopian PM Abiy Ahmed wins Nobel Peace Prize


Ethiopia is a country of many different languages and peoples.

"When Abiy Ahmed became Prime Minister in April 2018, he made it clear he wishes to resume peace talks with Eritrea", the committee said.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed won the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for his peacemaking efforts with Eritrea.

"This victory and recognition is a collective win for Ethiopians, and a call to strengthen our resolve in making Ethiopia - the new horizon of hope - a prosperous nation for all", the statement read.

The deadline for nominations for the awards was in February, but the Nobel committee can add names to its list after its closing. In close cooperation with Isaias Afwerki, the President of Eritrea, Abiy Ahmed quickly worked out the principles of a peace agreement to end the long "no peace, no war" stalemate between the two countries.

The committee says the breakthrough was Abiy's willingness to accept an arbitration ruling by an worldwide boundary commission in 2002.

The Norwegian Nobel Institute could also have chosen to acknowledge United Nations' World Food Program, or the joint leadership of two prime ministers - Greece's Alexis Tsipras and North Macedonia's Zoran Zaev - who brought an end to 30 years of acrimony between their nations.

The award consists of a gold medal, a diploma, and nine million Swedish kronor (around $912,000 or 828,000 euro).

Last year's Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad "for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict".

The laureates receive them at elegant ceremonies on December 10 - the anniversary of Nobel's death in 1896 - in Stockholm and Oslo.

While the other prizes are announced in Stockholm, the peace prize is awarded in the Norwegian capital, Oslo.

Two literature prizes were awarded Thursday: One for 2018 that went to Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk and one for 2019 that was given to Austrian author Peter Handke.

All the Nobel winners will be presented with their prizes on Dec 10, on the anniversary of Nobel's death.

With the exception of the prize for economics, which is to be awarded next week, all the Nobel prizes were established by the Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel (1833-96), the inventor of dynamite.