Mike Trout, Braves trio among 2019 Silver Slugger award winners


Minnesota Twins catcher Mitch Garver, Cleveland Indians first baseman Carlos Santana, Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman, New York Yankees second baseman D.J. LeMahieu, Braves second baseman Ozzie Albies and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Cody Bellinger joined Bregman and Acuna Jr.as first-time Silver Slugger Award winners. There is no Silver Slugger Award in the American League because pitchers do not take at-bats. He was also named the victor of the Hank Aaron Award; He received that trophy in the World Series.

LeMahieu, who won the Major League Baseball batting title in 2016 while playing for the Colorado Rockies, batted.327 this season with a career-best 26 homers and 102 RBI to help NY reach the AL Championship Series, where he hit a ninth-inning, game-tying home run to keep the Yankees alive in Game 6 against the Astros.

The awards go to the top offensive players at each position and are voted on by American League coaches and managers. In the AL, he also ranked second in on-base percentage, third in OPS, third in slugging percentage, tied for third in homers, fourth in runs scored (122), fifth in RBI and sixth in strikeout rate (12%).

Louisville Slugger announced Thursday on MLB Network that Colorado Rockies shortstop Trevor Story has won the Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award for the second consecutive season. The accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP verified the tabulation of balloting.